EU/EFTA Citizens: Living and Working in Switzerland


Are you planning to work in Switzerland, to join your spouse or family or to study at a Swiss university?

The conditions applicable for residence in Switzerland are dependent on the reason for your stay.

Currently the same conditions apply to all citizens of EU/EFTA member states with the exception of Croatian nationals.

Since 1 January 2017, Croatian nationals benefit from the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons. However, transitory provisions apply.

You will find the documents relevant to your stay in the table below (according to your nationality).


Countries of the EU/EFTA

Austria   Finland   Latvia   Portugal  
Belgium   France   Liechtenstein   Romania  
Bulgaria   Germany   Lithuania   Slovakia  
Croatia   Greece   Luxembourg   Slovenia  
Czech Republic   Hungary   Malta   Spain  
Cyprus   Iceland   Netherlands   Sweden  
Denmark   Ireland   Norway    
Estonia   Italy   Poland    




Croatia joined the European Union (EU) on 1 July 2013. Each time a new member joins the EU, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) is supplemented by an additional protocol. The extension of the AFMP to Croatia was negotiated in Protocol III, which provides full free movement of persons for Croatian nationals following a ten-year transitional period.

On 17 June 2016, the Swiss Parliament approved Protocol III and authorised the Federal Council to ratify it once an agreement to control immigration was reached with the EU that was compatible with  Swiss law. This condition was fulfilled when the Swiss Parliament voted to implement Article 121a of the Federal Constitution on 16 December 2016. With the ratification of Protocol III on 16 December 2016, the AFMP has been extended to Croatia.

On 1 January 2017, Protocol III came into force. Since then, special transitional measures with quotas and restrictions regarding the access to the labour market (priority clause for local workers as well as control of wages and work conditions) have applied to Croatian nationals.

More detailed information regarding the admission of Croatian nationals is provided in the factsheet "Croatia”.


United Kingdom (Brexit)

Following the United Kingdom’s departure from the EU and the end of the transition period, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) no longer applies to relations between Switzerland and the UK. The two countries have therefore concluded the agreement on citizens’ acquired rights, which will allow Swiss citizens living in the UK and UK citizens living in Switzerland to remain in their respective host countries.

The agreement on acquired citizens’ rights came into force on 1 January 2021.

UK nationals who wish to come to live and/or work in Switzerland after 31 December 2020 are subject to the provisions of the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA). They are subject to quotas and so their employers in Switzerland must first apply for a work permit from the competent authority.
For more information please see : United Kingdom


The cantons are responsible for issuing permits. For detailed information on the application procedure (where to apply, which form to fill out, how long it will take, etc.), please contact the competent cantonal authorities:

Last modification 22.12.2020

Top of page